Day 5: The one with one too many meetings!

One of our objectives of the ANAPEC project is to understand the Government Public employment sector of Morocco. In the process of doing that we have had to speak to various teams/divisions at ANAPEC and understand their scope of work.

We met with 5 different teams today – The IT team, The Marketing and strategy team, The social media consultant, The webmaster and the Project steering committee.

Each discussion while lasted 2hours on an average, was extremely beneficial for us to move ahead and put together some process maps and finding sheets.

Juani – the tech guru on our team put together an Idea log and question log (we’re super organized!) to keep abreast of all ramblings in our brains!

Juani – the tech guru on our team put together an Idea log and question log (we’re super organized!) to keep abreast of all ramblings in our brains!

Dani – Stares and doodles on the white-board all day, creating swim-lanes, process maps and other consultanty things ;)

Dani – Stares and doodles on the white-board all day, creating swim-lanes, process maps and other consultanty things 😉

And I put together roadmaps, digital strategies and try and undo all the organizing that Juani and Dani put together thanks to my over enthusiastic ideas 😉 But they do a good job of trying to keep me in check. Dani asks me a lot of questions and Juani always lives in the maybe-perhaps land 😉 That helps me streamline the ideas and come up with something solid. Tough team to impress! But they’re getting the hang of my working style and me of theirs.

We retired to the hotel in the evening, dead tired and brain-fried only to join a full team meeting (all 4 teams working with different clients) led by Boutaina to learn and understand if our Statement of Work (SOW) that was agreed upon with our clients needed revision after the first week experience. It was a fruitful discussion with each team discussing their concerns and others chiming in with ideas to mitigate them.

Boutanina, (I’ll call her God Mother from here on because she always comes with good news and gifts 😉) was kind enough to get us a French King Cake, and I found the queen! Apparently I’m considered lucky to get it. Just hope the luck translates to more than 24 hours in a day because I desperately need it! We also got a free spa thanks to the lovely Park Suites Hotel owner Rashid. If you ever visit Morocco – highly recommend the hotel 🙂

That's the queen I found in my cake!

That’s the queen I found in my cake!

We then headed out for dinner at a famous Italian place and ate loads of Pizza. We took some fun Japanese lessons from Masa and called it a day.

P.S: Before I left for CSC, people back home who had been a part of CSC before told me that the experience would be life changing and enriching. I always thought they exaggerated but looking at the staggering amount of work we are currently doing on a day to day basis and the task of learning and re-learning everyday, I’ve begun to realize this might be one helluva ride 🙂

#ibmcsc morocco

Leave a comment